top of page

Flyers claiming Makabayan party-lists disqualified fabricated

Party-lists from the Makabayan bloc are not disqualified to run in the May 9 elections, contrary to what leaflets found across several areas in the country have claimed.

The Commission on Elections announced in a May 8 press briefing that flyers and social media posts alleging the disqualification of progressive party-lists Kabataan, Anakpawis, Bayan Muna, ACT Teachers and Gabriela are not issued by the Comelec and are “fake and spurious.”

Twitter user @Kikiocioussness uploaded a photo on May 5 showing the fabricated materials scattered around their property in Camalaniugan, Cagayan at around 11 p.m. A close-up photo of the leaflet shows it bears the text:

BREAKING NEWS: COMELEC NARITO ANG LISTAHAN NG MGA PARTYLIST GROUPS NA DISQUALIFIED (Here is the list of party-list groups that have been disqualified).

The caption at the bottom part of the flyer reads:

HINDI NA PINAYAGANG TUMAKBO PA DAHIL SANGKOT SILA SA TERORISMO (They are no longer permitted to run because they are involved in terrorism).

Leaflets carrying the false claim were also found in other areas such as Ilocos Sur, Quezon City, Negros Oriental and Davao City, according to a May 9 Facebook post by Kabataan Partylist.

The Makabayan bloc has been at the receiving end of red-tagging attacks from President Rodrigo Duterte’s administration. They have been repeatedly accused of being affiliated with the Communist Party of the Philippines and its armed wing, the New People’s Army — both of which are declared terrorist groups by the government.

There is no proof, however, that the bloc is associated with communists.

In a press conference on May 8, members of the bloc denounced the false information against them, saying it “aims to frustrate the victory of progressive candidates.”

Kabataan and Gabriela are currently facing disqualification raps in the Comelec, but the commission has yet to release a ruling on these cases.

The Comelec previously dismissed a petition to disqualify the Makabayan bloc in 2020 due to lack of evidence. (RC).


bottom of page